Too Casual or too Lazy?

I hope you all had a good weekend, and have taken care of your young wards during the beginning of Children’s Week. I have, well, except for the Northrend little fellas, since it’s still bugged last I figured. Anyway, that actually brings us to today’s topic. Holidays and casual players.

Shhh, don't tell matron.

Shhh, don't tell matron.

Now, first thing to come to mind is that Casuals love them some Holidays, and are usually the ones to take advantage of the quick quests, and gimmick items.

I for one, have a soft spot for pets and mounts myself. Usually I will take advantage of some of them, if i feel like it, though I have done the Hallow’s End, Brewfest and new Love is in the Air bosses a good many times. At one time, I actually thought about doing all the achievements for “What a Long Strange Trip” meta-achievement, but have really slacked on it, sometimes because I just don’t have time, others because, well, I’m lazy.

Children’s Week seems different though. It wasn’t until last year that I actually buckled down and did some of the quests (partly because I always wanted to get Willy, if not for the perverted comment aspect). Well, so far I’ve got 5 of the pets, 2 from Azeroth/Outland, and the little Oracle from Northrend. I have done a good many of the achievements but have yet to do the dreaded “School of Hard Knocks”. Currently, I do still have one chance to do it, I believe (as long as you can use the Northrend Orphans for the achivement), and have debated on whether to do it or not. It’s not that I don’t like to do PvP, in fact, just recently I spent an entire evening, hitting the Random Battleground button, and seeing what I got. The thing that I’m not sure of, is really messing up other folks’ experience in the Battleground.

Basically, it’s not often that a Paladin (Holy or Ret), will grab the flag and run with it. I have done it a few times before (even got 5 flag caps in EotS), but more often then not will stay back and defend a node, especially if everyone leaves a lonely Healer there to defend it. I would rather reach our objectives then grab a flag so that my orphan can see it. Secondly, it’ll take a good bit of time, because, for example, Warsong Gulch can only have so many flag captures, and if you want to actually get the achievement, then you need to provide one of those three captures.

I’m not sure how to categorize it. Am I being too casual, or maybe actually too hardcore, by wanting to complete objectives, rather than let fools run around in PvE gear trying to complete an achievement, only to disappear once they get it. Or am I just being lazy?

A Violet Protodrake, is a great reward to work towards, but it’s a lot of work, and a lot of time that I don’t have.

What do you think? Have you completed the achievement? Was it as aweful as has been commented already?

P.S. More informational post later, this was just a bit of a rant that I wanted to get off my chest.

4 thoughts on “Too Casual or too Lazy?

  1. Just to clarify, the portion from WSG isn’t to capture a flag, it’s to recapture a flag, so it’s actually unlimited. Most people right now are giving this one away by picking up the flag, dropping it, letting you recap, picking it up again, dropping it, recap, and so on.

    Basically it’s free achievements all around. If someone attacks, kill them. If they’re playing along then go ahead and leave them alone or get your achievement and then go return the favor.

    Quite a few people got the Frenzied Defender achievement yesterday as well, for recapping 5 flags in a single battleground. The hordies just kept on picking/dropping the flag over and over for the full 25 minutes. I think everyone got it except for me and only then because (a) I already got it from legit pvp, and (b) I was the one hooking up the hordies on their side.

    You get the same friendly stuff going on in AB where you just trade off back and forth on a single node, and the same goes for AV as well.

    The big pain in the butt is EotS where 30 different people are all after a single flag, and they’re all willing to fight for it.

    • Hmm, well, I guess that’s good news for me then. Since it’s only day 2 of Children’s Week, I’m sure that this activity is still going on. Guess that I can be one of those annoying folks for a couple of matches, if not to help others get their achievement, then go back to my regularly scheduled PvP killing sprees.

  2. How bad it is depends on how much you like PvP, and how accommodating the other faction can be. But personally, I found it the most frustrating, painful and downright ugly bit of the whole Long Strange Trip … That I FINALLY finished this morning.
    However, I will tip my hat to the Bloodlust Battlegroup Horde in AV this morning, who were all playing very nice indeed 🙂

  3. I am the Matron on 2 characters from previous years and have one more shattrath pet for Tarinae to be a Veteran Nanny but I just could not bring myself to focus enough to get this done on my mage…I feel awful, I really wanted to but just couldn’t find the movtivation.

Leave a Reply

