Blessings in Disguise

Ok, maybe not a disguise, but new information has been leaked, and though it may be a spoiler, I don’t really consider it so as it is really speculative. It is good information for us Paladins though.

Awww yeah.

Awww yeah.

I’m a little late to the game, my son and I both were sick yesterday with a stomach bug, so needless to say, I was a bit busy cleaning up after him then writing posts. So, here’s my 2 copper on the subject.

The information provided dealt mainly with Blessing of Might and Blessing of Kings, as well as Aura changes.

Blessing of Might — Places a Blessing on the friendly target, increasing attack power by 11% and restoring 2 mana every 5 seconds for 1 hour. If target is in your party or raid, all party and raid members will be affected. Players may only have one Blessing on them per Paladin at any one time.

Blessing of Kings — Places a Blessing on the friendly target, increasing strength, agility, stamina, and intellect by 6% for 1 hour. If target is in your party or raid, all party and raid members will be affected. Players may only have one Blessing on them per Paladin at any one time.

Resistance Aura — Gives 31 additional Fire, Frost and Shadow resistance to all party and raid members within 40 yards. Players may only have one Aura on them per Paladin at any one time.

*sigh* Well, it appears that things are really getting combined pretty hard. A little bit of the Blessing of Wisdom is being combined into Blessing of Might, providing 2 mana every 5 seconds. Sort of a small amount if you ask me, 2 mana is miniscule, especially over 5 seconds. I’m guessing that it was a typo and maybe it’s 2% mana, but even then, it’s stronger then Replenishment. It also may have been a typo and should have been “92 mana per 5 seconds” as the current Blessing of Wisdom spell states, so I’m not totally sure how that will come about.

It is nice that these have been increased to an hour though, moving paladin buffs up into the priest/mage/druid time range. Speaking of Druids, Mark of the Wild is now going to have the same effect as Blessing of Kings, this means that if you have a druid and a paladin, then it is likely that you’ll just have to hit Blessing of Might and be done with it. To add to this, there is the extra text stating “If target is in your party or raid, all party and raid members will be affected,” meaning that our buffs are going to be even closer to other class buffs, in that they affect the whole raid or party. I do like this part, as it will save me from carrying around multiple stacks of Symbols of Kings.

I stated a while back, that I really wasn’t a big fan of consolidating all of these buffs so much. I kind of enjoy the strategy of choosing which buff to use on which class. It also separated some good paladins from those who just wanted to faceroll through something, and let everybody else worry about the logistics. I do agree that it will be one less thing to worry about, and rebuffing after a wipe will take much less time and reagents, but I’m still a bit hesitant.

I will also miss PallyPower, because with these changes, there really isn’t much of a need to keep track of what buffs go to who. Though, the timers would still be helpful, yet that can be handled by a handful of other addons. I will likely be one of those holdouts though, as I always loved PallyPower, and it’s still handy for keeping track of, and having quick access to, Righteous Fury (if I tank again), and Auras.

There is also word that Blessing of Sanctuary will no longer be a Blessing but somehow be built into Protection (I’m assuming into Righteous Fury).

Now, as of the new Aura, I do enjoy this, because it is really a logistical nightmare to have each paladin keep up a certain aura, dependant on the current situation. With the new “Resistance Aura”, it will allow us to simply click one Aura and have fire/frost/shadow resistance. Pretty powerful if you ask me, especially for PvP, as it will allow you to mitigate some damage from mages, warlocks, shadow priests, even shamans to some extent. Hopefully there won’t be too many resistance based fights, though they did include one in ICC with Sindragosa. It does increase the difficulty of a fight in the beginning, but eventually gets overpowered by gear anyway.

Well, on a final note, I do want to let ya’ll know that I plan to ease up on the “Spoiler Alerts” and provide a bit more information as it officially becomes available, I’m leaving more spoilers for my other blog Spoils of Warcraft, which I will likely update in the evenings, instead of the mornings (need more hours in the day).

3 thoughts on “Blessings in Disguise

  1. I love the buff changes but not so much the resistance change. That just makes…oh I don’t know…its a serious decrease in the amount when combined like that.

  2. The “2 mana/5 secs” is probably correct for whatever level the skill is learned at in Cataclysm. Remember that skills will have only a single rank; the database will display initial values, which will then increase each level. It’ll be a much larger number at level 85.

    • You have a good point, guess that I jumped a bit quick. I did realize that the spells all have one “rank” now, but didn’t really pay attention to the fact that they are data mining the base values without level modifiers.

Leave a Reply

