Hoarding: Buried Alive

Yes, that is the same title as some of those TLC and Discovery Channel shows about the folks who fill their house with stuff… and lots of stuff.

Well, my main Khraden may as well be diagnosed with that mental disorder.  My wife and I have recently been watching those shows, amazed at the accumulation of things people collect, and just can’t get rid of.  However, after thinking about it, I realized that I am the same way with Khraden.

At this moment if  you looked into my bank, you’d see all bag slots bought, filled with either Imbued Netherweave bags or Frostweave bags.  Each of those bags and the main bank window is full.  Maybe there is a spot or two available, but not often.

One of the noticable things in there… flavor items.  I love them, I have a ton of them, I have some from quests that not many people have ever done.  In addition to flavor items, I have nearly two entire rows of weapons.  Now these weapons are either cool looking (to me), or have some kind of flavor text.  An example of that being Taigasha, the “Magnataur Slayer”.  I don’t even use it, nor have I ever, but I thought it was unique, and plus it’s really big for a one-handed sword.  I also have a vast assortment of Tabards (still working on getting the “Tabard of the Achiever” achievement), several items that have no use, but are unique, such as the photo of “Linken” and his lady friend.  I even have Linken’s Boomerang and Linken’s Sword of Mastery, both of these from one of the most fun questlines in the game, and an awesome homage to the Zelda series.

Some other interesting items include the Monster Slayer’s Kit, Argent Dawn Banner, and the full “Undead Slaying” gearset from the second Scourge Invasion (mostly because I love the look of the Paladin’s Tier 2 Judgement set).  In addition to little items like this, I also have a few sets of gear that I just can’t get rid of.  Some of them being the full purple Judgement set from Burning Crusade, the blue/gold Lightforge set, and some of the old Lieutenant Commander’s Aegis set from when I used to PvP more.  I could go on and on with what is in there, but it would take forever, and be comparable to one of Big Bear Butt’s Bearwalls.

Paladin "Unsets"

Paladin "Unsets"

I do have some useful items in there though.  In fact I have an entire set of Retribution gear for both PvE and PvP, a few spots of some materials for cooking/enchanting, and a couple of spots for letters that people sent to me in game back when my wife’s grandfather and later when my grandfather passed away.

I hope to soon post a picture of my current bank.  The only issue I have is that I can’t move any of this to a bank alt, as nearly all of it is BoP, and already Soulbound to me.  Well, cie la vie, you win some, you lose some.

Do you collect things, whether they be useful or not, and just can’t get rid of them?

12 thoughts on “Hoarding: Buried Alive

  1. I’m the same way. I collect old stuff, and especially off the wall crap. Funny Gray items collect dust on my mule, I like to PuG wearing my Farmers Broom with the beserking enchant, or wear my WTF outfit on my pally (http://i91.photobucket.com/albums/k293/dabytch_01/Screenshots/urusaifridaynight.jpg)

    I ran out of room on my main (avalonna) for old tier shit ( I kept my t3 & t6), and I have sets for our Herald of the Titans/Dedicated Insanity runs, but not much room for more. My pally has the Recolored Judgement from BC and the orginal Judgement (minus the boots/belt…sigh)

    Looking at all my alts…yeah, I have alot of crap. For some odd reason, I can’t get rid of it.

    • That’s exactly my problem. I have all this stuff, and tons of room that _could_ be available, but just can’t get rid of it. I thought I was doing good, when I had half an open bag, but it ended up getting filled with coins from the Dalaran fountain, LOL.

  2. I am ALWAYS out of bag space. I hope desperately for a day when tailors get an ability to add ‘pouches’ for extra slots on bags.

    Most of mine are outfits, but some of them are toys. And things like the undead slaying set are priceless. You’ll never get another one! I still carry my haunted memento with me.

    The most ridiculous thing off the top of my head is probably the sextant of unstable currents I picked up in BC when nobody else wanted it. Never used it (crit was terribad for shadowing then), I just wanted it to make my pirate costume more ‘piratey’.

    Also the power converter from Show Them Gnome Mercy! in Blade’s Edge. No, I don’t even know why.

    • Holy cow, I have those too! I kept my Bloodsail Admiral’s costume (can’t get rid of that), and the power converter, just because of the flavor text. I sadly gave my haunted momento to a lowbie who asked nicely… *sigh*

  3. Yes!

    I collect things just like this. I have rows of crazy stuff like reindeer dust for mounts and strange fish I’ve caught in various places around Azeroth. Blood elf bandit masks. Some armor that dropped off King Wrynn. I have AD trinkets and lots and lots of strange set pieces that are hard to get now (Full T3 Mage?). On my DK, I have every visible piece of the original lvl 55 gear and the lvl 58 blue upgrades, they just look so much more DK than current DK armor.

    I collect tabards, but I also collect banners. I have like six of them on Shield now. Orgrimmar is still my favorite, but the Argent Crusade banner gets some play against Arthas.

    I am very guilty of this, my friend, you are not alone. I have several 80’s with the safe deposit achievement and I’m sure you do as well. =)

    • Yes, yes I do. And I have several of those banners, and use the Stormwind one pretty often when PvP’n just for the heck of it. My DK also has the full lvl 55 gear in all it’s iLevel 70 glory. I was never fortunate enough to do Naxxramas Prime, but did keep my full T7 (10 man) set, haha.

  4. I’ve had this problem for a while. In fact, my big 22+ slot bags are now in my bank slots, because of my collection of soulbound stuff. I’ve already deleted almost all my previous tier gear, and any soulbound gear that doesn’t have an important story attached (like the Ironforge Ring or the Caer Darrow headpiece). But I think I’ve just identified another category that I’ve been saving needlessly, and will use what I can during my dailies and rep grinds: I’m dumping all my soulbound holiday food.

    BTW, if you absolutely can’t part with any more of your stuff, and you’ve already won all the dragon hide and other quest and raid reward bags, go see Harris Pilton.

    • I would go see Harris Pilton… but I’m poor, I barely reach 1000g between all my characters at a single time, haha. I just spend it, sometimes on spurious stuff, and it just burns holes in my pockets.

  5. Pingback: Shared Topic: The Best & Worst: Cities/Towns « Illumination

  6. Pingback: Mopping up leftovers « Illumination

Leave a comment