Shared Topic: World of Awecraft

Caution: Image heavy post incoming. 

Since I began playing World of Warcraft and entered it’s pixely goodness, I have been enamored by the beauty of it’s environment.  I am a very visual person, and being able to create just about any wallpaper out of a screenshot was awesome (though converting it to a JPG from TGA in the beginning kind of sucked).  Anyway, the environment presented by Blizzard in World of Warcraft has inspired awe in me.  So below I have included some of my favorite screenshots, I do have more; however they are hidden somewhere on my hard drive. 

Grizzly Hills

Ah, Grizzly Hills. Beautiful music, beautiful scenery.

Crystalsong Forest

I always liked the glowing landscape of the Crystalsong Forest as well.

Skybreaker

The Skybreaker, like it's "companion" the Ogrim's hammer both added greatly to the ambience of Icecrown. Plus they're fricken Airships!

Ogrim's hammer

The Ogrim's Hammer and it's "companion" the Skybreaker both added greatly to the ambience of Icecrown. Plus they're fricken Airships!

Sunset over Bloodmyst Isle

This shot of a sunset over Bloodmyst Isle was recently taken by my mage alt. I just liked how the blooming effect around the sun turned out.

Anyway, I plan to update this post with more pictures, likely some of the older screenshots that I have.  I have a decent colection from Outland as well as some inner-dungeon shots that turned out well.

4 thoughts on “Shared Topic: World of Awecraft

  1. I’m always envious of people who can take screenshots like these. They’re so good and framed so perfectly. Mine always tend to look exactly like what they are…video game screen caps. 😛

    • I appreciate the comment. It’s really all about getting the right angle, in fact, the Grizzly Hills one, I’m sitting in a depression in the land so that I could look up in that angle.

      Plus, as always, zoom into 1st person and Alt+z the gui out.

  2. What graphics card are you using and what visual settings do you have? These are absolutely gorgeous shots! (You have a great photographer’s eye as well. 🙂 )

    • Thank you for the compliment. As for graphics cards, I’ve got dual SLI NVIDIA GeForce 7950 GTs running on a home built PC.

      It allows me to run the settings nearly to the max. Most importantly the hires textures. Those usually really make the shot.

Leave a comment